Audacity

This word had been ringing in my head for the past few days. I had to google it, and to my surprise, it had been given such a bad name here, and applied only in its negative notion. That speaks so much of our culture here. It takes a gold medalist’s win for me to question it, and see it in with a different set of eyes. Thank you for the inspiration, J. Schooling.

For the uninitiated,

audacity
ɔːˈdasɪti/
noun
  1. a willingness to take bold risks.
    “he whistled at the sheer audacity of the plan”
  2. rude or disrespectful behaviour; impudence.
    “she had the audacity to suggest I’d been carrying on with him”

Such a fine line between intrepid boldness and shameless arrogance. With so much recently gained knowledge on spirituality and getting to know God better, the difference really is in the authenticity of love, trust and belief in what we know/feel/think we have been designed to do this lifetime. Henceforth, my facepalm goes to all the human beings that judge others on which side of that fine line another is straddling. My favourite line nowadays is “it is really between you and God”. Parents, friends, society, are peer pressures and judgements that really taint our own knowingness of where we stand.

I resolve to put that aside, and live the journey He has designed for me. I trust His love and put my faith into believing in the gifts He has granted me. I shall have the audacity to live my life to the fullest potential He has entrusted in me.

No more glass ceiling, people. ❤

Leave a Reply

