Lessons over lives

Dailyprompt is getting good at setting me focal points for contemplation and understanding. This feels like the biggest takeaway I got out from my two-day class just this weekend.

In Chinese culture, Loyalty is one of the four virtues (忠、孝、节、义), as delineated by Confucius. However, when one examines his role and also deeper into idea of loyalty, it really is rather questionable whether loyalty really is a virtue. I am glad much discussion has gone into this topic in Western philosophy, which has really broadened my perspective on something I had always taken to be a given.

My position as of now is that the only “thing” one should be loyal to is the God-spark in each and everyone of us. Why God-spark and not Himself is because each and everyone of us are on our own journey of experience, and therefore what holds truest to us is that fractal of Him guiding us, special and unique to each one of us. Yet, because each is a fractal of Him, it connects all of us, which in turns infer a loyalty to each and everyone of us as One.

Loyalty to any one nation, or any one person is a different story, because these “things” are only material mirrors, that reflect back to us as a form of navigation. We need to listen to the God-spark (which is actually Spirit in other words) to understand when “loyalty” is appropriate, and when it is not.

Let’s just quote some personal examples:

  • Hitler’s number one general – the best strategist in the whole world, who was really only doing his job, and being really loyal to his boss. Is he right? Or is he wrong? Did loyalty serve him in this case, or did it not? Maybe that was the lesson he had to learn – why to walk away, how to walk away, when to walk away, and maybe there were some other more important lessons which he had to learn.
  • A slave owner on horseback rounding up slaves like animals – what if he abhorred himself for doing so, but that was how society was then, everyone just doing so as though that was the norm and correct thing to do? What if it killed him inside out, eating his conscience and heart as he had to chase human beings like they were animals? Did loyalty to clan and family and the collective white-skins still make sense? So what if it didn’t, did he have a choice then?
  • How about a Saint who had to sever his connections with the previous Order he was in, so that he could set up something different but greatly serves mankind? The perceived betrayal / traitor-ship had to happen, in order for something greater (or more useful) to be conceived. How does loyalty, or the lack thereof, apply in this case?

Now I see why I was put through the ordeal four years ago, of having to decide whether it was traitor-ship to flee or whether it was unethical to stay. I thought the past life that emerged was to help me understand and to guide me into my decision then. But now, I see it more like it is this current life’s circumstance that shines a mirror into the past life lessons, so that I can now understand the soul lesson (which I was unable to grasp the essence at those points in time) – learnt so that I no longer have to repeat them, and learnt so that I can free myself and release all others from having to learn the lesson or to teach me the lesson ever again.

Breathe! Such a tough one to eschew. I’m glad I’m done with it. ❤

One Comment Add yours

  1. dronstadblog says:

    Now you got me to think about loyalty. You have struck all the good points. I like this post. Thank you for sharing your point of view. It was very insightful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

