Small Successes

Activities are ramping up this year. And it is a much better feeling than what I thought I would be worried about! I used to think I would worry about life getting back into the buzz, and that I am feeling happy with life now only because I am doing only the happy things in life i.e. I am living the happy half part and cutting all the non-happy other half of life.

I have started working two-shifts again. It has been a series of short double shifts to longer double shifts, and I am very very satisfied with having sustained it and still feeling super darn happy with everything that I am doing. Maybe just a little bit tired from past two nights, but recovering well now!

I am not workaholic – it’s not the workaholic kind of crazy many shifts, but manageable number of working hours, just that they are split into day and night. I have been attending classes these three weeks, and I still manage to get some work done out of class hours! I am super impressed by myself! Small successes. The bigger success is that I am still feeling super darn happy!!! I have not reached the kind of working hours that I used to when I was doing all the archi planning stuffs, and I do not intend to work that kind of hours anymore. I would say I am reaching a normal person’s hours of work, and still enjoying it almost like I’m just doing the stuffs that I like – stuffs that I would do during my weekends and breaks and vacations had I been still in my archi-planning “pastlife”.

In the earlier days of the Theta instructor classes, I would always be super duper impressed to hear other fellow instructors going for another class after. “How do you guys even find the energy to do that?” After a while, I started doing the same! OMG! It first started with a whole week of in-person class in SGT, and because of the schedule, I took on another two online one-day classes at MST during that one week. It was super doable. I thought it was because I was just a student so it did not take that much out of me. (I was actually still teaching Archi at that time but it just nicely fitted into the schedule that I did not have to teach during those days I was attending class.)

During that period, I still remember my other instructor telling me about her sessions before / after our class, and I was again super impressed. I am usually zapped out after teaching my own classes.

AND THEN … OMG. I started doing the same. It was good that when I was Teaching Assistant, the classes were at AEST, which is 2 hours before SGT. It was very easy to schedule sessions after the class. It started with a one-week class, so it was very okay. Last month’s was a two-week class, and it was also very doable! Other than sessions after the class, I was even still able to do night Instagram Live sessions that I run once a week. IT IS SO AMAZING! I was probably tired the day after, but the recovery was so fast, I’m like up and running again the day after.

These three weeks were just me as a student, so it was pretty alright! They weren’t Theta classes this time, so it’s a little bit more tiring than usual – I believe it is because it takes more effort to mentally focus on reminding myself to start on a clean slate and not compare the approaches and methods to Theta. Sounds simple? Nope, it is not. It is not easy to focus and refocus, “take this method as this method. Set aside whatever I have learnt and done with Theta.” Theta is basically so ingrained in me now (it’s good! and I’m saying this in a very good way!) that if I don’t focus, it’s very easy to just fall into the trap of being judgemental of other methods and approaches. “Beginner’s mind, ping. Beginner’s mind. You cannot pour anymore tea in if the cup is already full….”

I was attending courses for Mindfulness and also for Coaching. I have been wanting to bring Theta into the corporate realm here, but I was not able to get past a few things – how to talk about God / Creator / Universe in this workplace environment, how to have these colleagues comfortable enough to work with each other on such intimate matters within own selves. I tried working on my own beliefs, managed to clear out quite a lot of my own limitations, but still did not get myself to a good enough level that I’m comfortable pitching it.

For some weird reason, my July calendar was free. And for some weird reason, there was this class that I had been wanting to do for a long long time that happened to run last week and I happened to google it and find it two weeks prior. (It was so long ago in the eons of in-person classes that I was even prepared to fly over to US at some point, and I guess last week was that point except that it is online now!)

And then for Coaching it was also really super coincidental, I met my neighbour who was going for some other class, and he told me he was interested in going for this one and asked if I’m interested, and so Yes, I joined him. That class was free because it was heavily subsidised by the government. After that one, he felt he was not ready for the next level. I heard other classmates were going for the following one, and I found one that fit my schedule and I went! This one was not free anymore. :/ But it was still heavily subsidised, so I still paid minimal for it. There is one more level coming up! But I have run out of digital government $$ to pay for it, so I am going to just wait for the next calendar year! Which is perfect too, because I really feel I want to get in a lot more practice before going on to the next level, so that I really get the most out of what I am learning. (That is a separate topic I want to rant about. Too many people in this world are chasing after book knowledge -knowledge at the mental level- and not fully immersing in practice and grounding knowledge into reality and converting them into wisdom through experience. Or am I really getting old? tsk.)

So! I was able to fit in in-person training for Coaching in the day time and then attending a very brief theta training on one night and make it for my own IG Live on another night! And for the Mindfulness one, it a whole week of night training, and I was pretty much still able to carry on my workday preparing for my own class and still having sessions. And I was happy throughout. Satisfied. Contented. Fulfilled. No stress. Which was the whole point. The whole important outcome for all my spiritual work on myself this past decade+ ! I’m very impressed. It’s been a long project, but the results really show. AND, I know I can do even better than this. 😀 ❤

I have also spoken to instructors who teach two shifts – two separate classes within a day. Imagine that! I wouldn’t say I aim to do that, but rather, I will not be surprised if this happens in my life at some point. 🙂 I want to thank all my teachers on this journey – all beings for being an inspiration for one way or another. It really shows us what is possible. ❤

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.